Our mission

Precision phagotherapy to treat bacterial infections

The search for antibiotics seems to have reached a peak for several decades, and it puts bacteriophages back at the forefront of the solutions to this problem.

Pherecydes Pharma develops phage-based therapeutic solutions for the treatment of bacterial infections. The Company has thus developed technologies, in compliance with current pharmaceutical standards, to select and produce active phages against resistant and multi-resistant bacteria.

Pherecydes has selected as priority targets three families of bacteria listed by the WHO as being among the most dangerous:Pseudomonas aeruginosa, Staphylococcus aureus and Escherichia coli. These three bacterial infections alone account for over 2/3 of hospital acquiredhospital acquired infections in industrialized countries.

The company has already obtained promising results in humans with its phages in the context of compassionate treatments in France, carried out in a medical setting approved by the French National Agency for the Safety of Medicines (ANSM), in particular for bone and joint infections.

As of the end of 2020, Pherecydes has started the production of phages according to industrial GMP (Good Manufacturing Practices) quality standards and plans to start making anti-Pseudomonas aeruginosa and anti-Staphylococcus aureus phages available in France by the second half of 2021 on the basis of Early Access Programs .

Find out more about phages

Notre mission

La phagothérapie de précision pour traiter les infections bactériennes

La recherche d’antibiotiques semble avoir atteint un palier depuis plusieurs décennies et cela remet les bactériophages au premier rang des solutions à ce problème.

Pherecydes Pharma développe des solutions thérapeutiques à base de phages pour le traitement des infections bactériennes. La société a ainsi mis au point des technologies, dans le respect des normes pharmaceutiques actuellement en vigueur, pour sélectionner et produire des phages actifs contre les bactéries résistantes et multi-résistantes.

Pherecydes a sélectionné comme cibles prioritaires trois familles de bactéries retenues par l’OMS dans la liste des bactéries les plus dangereuses : Pseudomonas aeruginosa, Staphylococcus aureus et Escherichia coli. Ces trois infections bactériennes représentant à elles seules plus des deux tiers des infections nosocomiales des pays industrialisés.

La société a d’ores et déjà obtenu chez l’homme des résultats prometteurs avec ses phages à l’occasion de traitements compassionnels en France, réalisés dans un cadre médical approuvé par l’ANSM, notamment pour des infections ostéoarticulaires.

Fin 2020, Pherecydes a démarré la production de phages selon les standards industriels de qualité BPF (Bonnes Pratiques de Fabrication) et envisage de débuter la mise à disposition en France des phages anti-Pseudomonas aeruginosa et anti-Staphylococcus aureus à compter du second semestre 2021 sur la base d’ATU (Autorisations Temporaires d’Utilisation).

En savoir plus sur les phages